Calling All Hinsons

"…that they should seek God…" Acts 17:26-27

Indescribable God

Leave a comment

A recap of my week:

1-Spent 5 hours in the ER with a teething and snotty 15-month-old because she wouldn’t walk.
2-Said 15-month-old pulled TV down, breaking it and sorely disappointing her brother who had just started watching Jonah, starring the Veggie Tales.
3-Took yet the same 15-month-old to her “well child” check-up and left with a diagnosis of an ear infection and a prescription for amoxicillin for 10 days.
4-Found out the almost-3-year-old has an abnormal ANA, meaning some sort of Autoimmune Disorder may be brewing.
5-Almost-3-year-old vomited twice while spending the night with Mimi and had to be picked up.
6-Spent the night on the couch with almost-3-year-old.
7-Found out a dear friend has breast cancer.

This all may sound like a terrible week, but it wasn’t.

I went on a God-centered retreat last weekend with 24 women from our church and spent the whole time being loved on by them and by Jesus. I took my relationship with Him to a new level and came away refreshed and ready for the week ahead…

I finished up the week with an awesome worship experience with Chris Tomlin. I sang my heart out to Jesus,

I’ll stand with arms high and hearts abandoned, in awe of the one who made it all

And if our God is for us, then who could ever stop us

It will be my joy to say, Your will, Your way

Indescribable, uncontainable, You placed the stars in the sky and You know them by name. You are amazing God.
All powerful, untamable, awestruck we fall to our knees as we humbly proclaim You are amazing God

By the end of this week I wondered to myself, “Will I get rest any time soon?”

And God whispered ever so softly in my heart,
“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”
God sandwiched my bad week in between two breathtaking experiences with Him in order to give me strength to get through those times.
So, to recap my week with all that in mind:
1-The teething 15-month-old had no broken bones.
2-The TV isn’t important and no one was hurt when it fell.
3-The 15-month well-child appointment that was scheduled 3 months ago happened exactly when it needed to so we could catch the ear infection early, get antibiotics, and have a second look at the leg.
4-The almost-3-year-old may have something going on, but he is a very healthy, happy, and smart little boy who is not sickly all the time.
5-The almost-3-year-old only vomited twice and woke up hungry and ready to hit the ground runnin’.
6-Got a whole night to care for and snuggle with the almost-3-year-old.
7-My dear friend has faith in an Almighty God that is the Great Physician and Healer of all our ailments. He also hears our prayers of strength and comfort for her and her young family. (Oh yeah, and she can take her burdens to Him and find rest for her weary soul, too.)

And that, my friends, is an indescribable God!

Leave a Reply

