Calling All Hinsons

"…that they should seek God…" Acts 17:26-27

Not what I thought…

Leave a comment

I can’t even remember the first time I noticed it or when it started to change. I have always been freckly and fair-skinned and have always had a mole on my left upper arm. But slowly over time, this mole changed. I do remember back around early summer people started noticing it. They would suggest I go get it checked, but I had an appointment to have a thyroidectomy and that was going first. I made an appointment with a dermatologist, Dr. Melissa Coale, the week after my thyroid surgery. The appointment was changed a few times for various reasons, but eventually settled in on November 19th. By the time November 19th rolled around, the mole that had been on my arm all my life and I never paid any attention to had turned black and hard and was the size of a pencil eraser. I knew she would remove it, so I was very nervous. I am a wimp when it comes to needles and scalpels and the sort. All went well, though, with the removal and Dr. Coale (who was a super nice doctor by the way) told me the results wouldn’t be back until after Thanksgiving. I was sitting at work on my lunch break on Wednesday, November 21st and I received a call from Dr. Coale’s office. The nurse told me that Dr. Cole needed to see me in the office at 3:15. I told her that I was at work and I couldn’t just leave, but she insisted that I needed to be seen before Thanksgiving. Of course I knew then that this wasn’t good, and I started arranging things to allow me to leave work. I picked up Grant and we headed to the doctor’s office. When Dr. Coale walked in, she wasted no time in telling me that I have melanoma. I didn’t hear much more, but she went on to explain that I need to have a sentinel node biopsy to make sure it hasn’t spread to the lymph nodes. As I began to cry in the office, she hugged me for such a long time. She was so compassionate and kind. I don’t know much about melanoma, but I will very soon. I have an appointment with the surgeon on December 3 to talk about removing the area and doing the biopsy. Our prayer right now is that God will keep the cells all in one place and not let them travel to the lymph nodes. Please join us in praying this as well. I have no idea why God has this planned for us right now, but I am resting on His promise when He says, “For I know the plans I have for you…plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.” May His name be glorified in my life!

Leave a Reply

