Calling All Hinsons

"…that they should seek God…" Acts 17:26-27

6-years and counting

4 Comments

6-years and counting

Yesterday Grant and I celebrated six years of marriage. When I met Grant in 2005 he wasn’t a Christian. I invited him to a tent revival in October where he met Jesus for the first time and became a child of God. He hit the ground runnin’ with Jesus…and with my heart.
In March 2006, Grant asked me to be his wife and I said yes. I said yes for many reasons: He was so good-looking. He had such a contagious smile. He had lots of energy. He was willing to learn more and more about Jesus. He loved me and told me so all the time. He was a hard worker. He was driven.
Now most of you all know how hard marriage is. And how six years can bring a lot of change. It amazes me to stand at this six year mark and look back to see what all has changed and what we have grown into as husband and wife.
And the list hasn’t changed too much from why I loved him then to why I love him now. He still is the most handsome man I have ever seen, has that same smile, and the same amount of energy as a 3-year-old. But God has polished and formed him into something I never could have dreamed of. He has made him a man after His own heart. He has made his heart yearn to serve the poor. He has made him a tremendous father. He has made him into a man who treats me like a Queen.
God has blessed me so much with Grant. I don’t deserve him. But I do know that where Grant is weak, I am strong-and where I am weak, he is strong. We complete each other, and together are able to be a family used by God.
We aren’t perfect by any means and pray at least daily for God to keep us “on the same page”, but as often as I pray that, I tell Grant that I wouldn’t want to be on this crazy journey with anyone else in the world.

4 thoughts on “6-years and counting

  1. Such sweet words. Love you both.

  2. Sweet blog. I love how you write.

Leave a Reply

