Calling All Hinsons

"…that they should seek God…" Acts 17:26-27

Oh baby!

Leave a comment

I’m sitting in a hospital room tonight snuggling a beautiful 9 hour old baby boy. Our neighbor, Kiera, gave birth today. Selfishly I’m thankful that we moved here just in time for me to cuddle, kiss, feed, change, and love on a brand new bundle of joy.

But my heart also breaks. I remember my very first night as a mommy. It was hard. It was real hard. Asher cried a lot that night. I thought something was wrong with him. He wouldn’t sleep unless we held him, and wouldn’t nurse as well as I hoped. I had no idea how to take care of such a fragile thing and wondered how in the world people did this. Did I mention it was hard?

But, my memories of that night include Grant every step of the way. He was there to change diapers, give me a break, help me learn to nurse, go get me water, help me to the bathroom.

Kiera doesn’t have that. Her boyfriend lives in Florida and wasn’t able to be here today.

When she told me yesterday that she was scheduled to be induced today I was excited for her, but wondered who would be there to help. Her mom was here today, but left around supper to get some rest. I felt God telling me that He could use me here. I didn’t hesitate at all. This may be the best mission He has ever asked me to do.

So as I snuggle tonight and Kiera gets some rest, say a prayer for her. She is young and new at this. Most of us know how hard it is with a newborn. Pray for strength, endurance, grace, wisdom.

And pray I don’t take this sweetheart home with me in the morning!

20130619-232018.jpg

Leave a Reply

