Calling All Hinsons

"…that they should seek God…" Acts 17:26-27

Gorditas? Yes, please!

Leave a comment

20130717-234106.jpg

You see that picture? I made those. Really. I made real, live gorditas.

You probably have heard me talk about my neighbor, Carmen. She is 33 years old and we have really gotten to know and love each other. We don’t speak the same language, but somehow we understand each other. She teaches me Spanish and braids Evan’s hair. She sends me food and watches my kids like they are her own.

Carmen asked me one day if she could teach me how to cook a Mexican dish. Um, yeah! I LOVE Mexican food!
We have learned that a lot of the Hispanic families make their signature dish on Friday and sell them on Saturday. Carmen and her Aunt Lorena make gorditas. Our other neighbor makes shaved ice with Nance fruit (a Mexican fruit), and another makes chicharones, a Mexican chip.

When I went to Carmen’s to make the gorditas, I didn’t know what to expect. I didn’t know if she was going to do it all and I would watch or how it would play out.

20130717-234347.jpg

She was so loving to me and taught me as if she were teaching her child. You could tell she was passionate about showing me a part of her culture and her life. Our friendship grew a little deeper as she showed me how to roll the corn flour into the perfect ball and flatten it out into the press to make a tortilla. She would show me once then expected me to take over. She would then move on to the next step. In the end I had made 20 tortillas by hand, cooked them on the griddle, burned my fingers, deep fried them in the oil, and filled them with chile sauce, frijole sauce, Mexican cheese and onion.
They were super yummy and I have to say I was impressed.

The reason I am sharing this story is because before we came to SC we prayed—and you joined us—that God would allow us to form relationships and to learn the Spanish language. God has knocked our socks off with how many people we have come to know and how quickly those relationships have been formed. We have been surrounded by the Hispanics in the community and they all love teaching us and the kids Spanish. God has been faithful to answer our prayers.

He has also planted a love in our hearts that is hard to explain. We are growing a deep, deep love for the Hispanic culture and the people. They are so warm, inviting, giving, care-free, jovial, and helpful. They love us and our kids. They trust us with their kids.

We are so very thankful for the opportunities of ministry here in Countryside. There are tons more families to meet and know and love. Pray for our Spanish speaking ability to accelerate in a supernatural way where we can only give God credit. Pray for our friends to know that we are here because we love them and more importantly, God loves them. Pray for us to get to know more and more people here in our community.

Thank you so much for the prayers you are praying for us daily and for the words of encouragement. You will never know how much we need them and how much we appreciate them.

Leave a Reply

