Calling All Hinsons

"…that they should seek God…" Acts 17:26-27

Evan Grace is 2!

4 Comments

Image

On July 25, 2011 a little red-headed girl was born to some really happy parents. The fact that she was one week overdue in the middle of the hottest summer known to man (at least that’s how it felt being pregnant) should have given us a major hint into her strong-willed personality.  The next clue was that she would not give in to the “cry-it-out” theory that worked so well with Asher. She cried no matter what the books said she would do. She continues to show her personality at the dinner table. I am amazed that she can go 24 hours without eating a single bite of food because, in her words, “don’t like it!”

Persistence is what we have affectionately named it.

We pray that God is going to turn it into something He can use one day.

When I was pregnant we chose not to find out if we were having a boy or a girl. I would be convinced one day that it was a boy in my belly and the next day I was buying hair bows for the girl I thought it was. I had no idea. People say you have a “Mommy’s intuition”, but I didn’t.

My due date was July 18th. I really wanted to try to have a natural birth, despite the c-section I had with Asher. My doctor was supportive of this decision, but from the first conversation we had about it, she was very clear that I could go no longer than 41 weeks, due to the increased risk of complications. She scheduled a c-section on the last day possible, but reassured me that the baby would come before then.

She didn’t.

I tried it all. Bouncing on a yoga ball, walking every day, working my normal 12 hour shifts in the ER. Nothing. Not even one contraction was felt. Sigh.

So, on the morning of the 25th I calmly gathered my bags and we drove to the hospital where we were scheduled for a c-section.

I was happy to finally get to meet this child. All went very smoothly with the surgery. The moment the doctor announced “It’s a girl!” tears filled my eyes. The next thing I heard was “look at all that red hair!” YAY! When I first saw her I remember thinking she was unbelievably beautiful.

We named her Evan Grace.

Evan: Short for “evangelism” meaning “to go and tell”. Also means “good news, God is gracious, and good messenger”.

Grace: “Favor, blessing”. Referring to God’s grace.

Evan Grace is good at climbing and jumping. She can also count from 1 to 10 and mimics the ABCs. She sings Happy Birthday and Jesus Loves Me. She loves to put on my shoes and can be found any hour of the day with a bracelet, necklace, sunglasses, or a purse. She is a girly girl but is as rough and tumbly as any boy I know. She has fit right into our new neighborhood as she loves on these kiddos better than we do sometimes. She greets them by name as they walk in the door and allows them to carry her around like a baby doll. She is a trooper!

In her short 2 years, Evan Grace has brought joy to so many. We see God already using her beautiful dimpled smile to attract strangers. We see her beautiful red hair attracting our neighbors who love to style it. We see her joy for life being contagious to anyone around her.

We want nothing more for our little girl than for her to be a bold witness for Jesus Christ. Our desire is for her to go and tell of the good news of salvation and God’s grace that is extended to all mankind. May she be a good messenger on His behalf and may God’s favor and blessing be upon her all the days of her life. Our prayer is that Evan will know Jesus intimately, follow Him wholeheartedly, and will change the world for Him!

Happy Birthday to my sweet, happy, gorgeous little one!

 Image

4 thoughts on “Evan Grace is 2!

  1. Happy birthday Evan Grace! We love you!

  2. Tears flowed as I read this blog. What a happy day that was, July 25 2011 as we welcomed this little red headed angel into the world. I am blessed beyond, beyond, to have her to love on. She is my special angel. Happy Birthday. Love Mr. Keith and Mrs. Sherry

  3. This was beautiful Amber and a very happy birthday to the sweet little red head!
    Love,
    Judy Martin

  4. HAPPY BIRTHDAY to a precious red headed blessing!!! 😀 xoxoxoxo

Leave a Reply

