Calling All Hinsons

"…that they should seek God…" Acts 17:26-27

Guest Blogger…WHAT!?

3 Comments

I have the privilege today of sharing with you from a dear friend of mine. I asked on Facebook a few days ago if anyone would like to be a “Guest Blogger”. This simply means that you write something that is on your heart and I will share it here for you. I like the idea of this because it allows people an avenue to share things and gives you all a little change from just reading about The Hinson family. If this sounds like something you may want to do, please email me! carolinamber@yahoo.com

Image

Meet Angela Weider–a most godly, humble, and beautiful friend of mine. She was given the honor of attending a Hispanic wedding last weekend and it was so moving in her life that she wanted to share it with y’all. Enjoy!

About a year ago I started taking classes to work toward my degree, in doing this I have been able to become closer friends to a few of my coworkers. They also have recently taken classes and finished school, they are twins, Sarai and Nehomi. I don’t know a whole lot about the two of them but I know Sarai likes to talk, joke around and has an infectious smile, while her sister Nehomi is more quiet and reserved. It’s been a huge privilege of mine to be able to see the way these girls live and the way their families live as well. Of course I haven’t been able to see the extent of their lives, but mere glimpses. For instance, at work, at a normal break or lunch time you can find them and their mother, sister & cousins all sitting in their normal spots reading their Bibles. Where is their normal spot you ask? Well, it used to be right at the door, right where any employees would come in after break or lunch or whatever. I don’t think they intentionally picked that spot so that people would see them reading their Bibles, but it just happens to be where they sit and people might see. These girls and their family hold a special place in my heart because we’re sisters–not by genetics, but by the Blood of Christ and rebirth in Him.

Today I had the privilege of going to Sarai’s wedding. When I read the invitation the other week I was a little confused, not only because I don’t speak or read Spanish but because the timeframe just seemed so long! It said the wedding would be at 1:30 and the reception was at 5. Now, I don’t know about you but that seems like a REALLY long wedding! Later they changed the start time to 2, that’s a little better right?

So, today was the big day for Sarai and Alex (her boyfriend). Lillie reluctantly went with me to the wedding and I almost joined her reluctance. It was pouring rain outside and that still sounded like a long wedding! We went on and I’m so glad we did, I’d been looking forward to it for weeks!

The wedding ended up starting around 2:30 or so and it was a wedding like no other! They first introduced the wedding party 2 x 2 and then came the bride–she looked beautiful! Her father walked her to the groom and their seats and the next thing that happened was never expected–or not by me at least!

We had a worship service! Literally… it was amazing! They sang 3 songs, I honestly have no clue what they were, but the first had the beat of the song that says “Oh Lord our Lord, How Majestic is your Name in all the earth” I don’t know if that’s what they were singing, but that’s what came out of my mouth. All over the church people had their hands raised, and you heard “Hallelujah” and “Amen” echoing throughout the sanctuary. I must admit I cried. I have no clue what the words were that the people were singing, but it didn’t matter. I knew that they were worshiping the same God I was, I knew that we were brothers & sisters in Christ and the language we spoke didn’t matter. Then the father of the bride spoke, he shared his love for his princess, and The Lord, and spoke of us being one in Christ. The mother of the bride spoke, and I really have no clue what she said, she spoke so quickly the translator couldn’t translate, she just didn’t give him time to remember what she said. She was so excited!

And then…

The Pastor preached. He spoke about the home, and reminded us that if we build our house upon the Rock, which is Christ, then we’ll be on solid ground. He told us of how wives are to submit to their husbands. And reminded us that often we forget that the verse says “as unto The Lord” (Eph. 5:22). He said that this didn’t give the husbands the right to be mean to their wives but to be Godly husbands.

When the actual ceremony began it started like a “normal” American ceremony. They exchanged vows and rings. But then they did something that I’ve never seen before, they gave each other some coins. The same set of coins. From what I understood about this it was the husband giving the coins to his new bride first. This signified that he would be the provider of the family, the head of the household, and would always love cherish and take care of his wife. Then she gave them to him as well, her vows on this were different, but I can’t remember the exacts of hers. It seemed significant to me that they shared these coins, they weren’t “his coins” or “her coins” it was the family’s coins. They also had a unity rope or something like that. It’s placed over their shoulders I believe to show that they are bonded together for infinity. It was a cord sewn together like an 8, but with it on its side it was the symbol for infinity.

I can easily say that this was the longest wedding I’d ever been to, but it was also the best wedding that I’d ever been to, you could feel the Spirit of God the whole time! I loved the fact that they praised God and worshiped Him for the first 15 minutes, then the next 20 minutes we learned more of God’s Word.

Once we got to the reception it was more of the same, you know worshiping God and celebrating a new marriage and family. Most of the time I couldn’t understand what was being said, the music was in Spanish, but at the end of most songs someone would say “Hallelujah” or “Amen” or I’d hear them say something about being “Familia” in Christ.

You could see the importance of God within Sarai & Alex’s family structure and their lives and it was more than a blessing to be a witness and part of it all.

3 thoughts on “Guest Blogger…WHAT!?

  1. Angela…Enjoyed reading your blog about the wedding. Very sweet! Awesome job.

  2. Oh…and a beautiful picture of you and Lillie! Love you TWO.

  3. How I wish I could’ve been there! What a touching story- makes me want to redo my wedding the right way! haha

Leave a Reply

