Calling All Hinsons

"…that they should seek God…" Acts 17:26-27

Rashes and Billly Graham

Leave a comment

What started as a normal Sunday morning turned to a disappointing one, then a blessed one.

This morning we were all dressed and ready for church. Asher woke up later than normal, but also went to bed late last night so I didn’t think much about it. When he woke up his eyes were pretty swollen, which concerned me, but I thought maybe it was from sleeping so long and would go down as he woke up more. As he was eating breakfast, he spilled his grits on his pants and shirt–the ones he was wearing to church. I went into his room to change him and noticed a rash all over his torso. So, with a rash and swollen eyes, I thought it was best not to take him to church. I sent Grant and Evan Grace on their way, sad that I couldn’t go.

I moped in to change out of my church clothes and got Asher situated to watch cartoons. This was changing my whole, busy day. We were supposed to take the kids to a friend’s house at 1:00, hand out flyers for the Thanksgiving Meal at 2:00, then head to Hickory Grove Baptist Church in Charlotte for the IMB Missionary Appointment Service at 3:30. I was super excited about our afternoon plans!

Did you know there are no cartoons on basic cable Sunday morning? With Asher already crying about not being able to go to church, then no cartoons, I was certainly getting frustrated quickly. This is not how it was supposed to be today.

But God.

I flipped the channel one more time and saw the Rev. Billy Graham. We haven’t been able to see his production, My Hope, so you better believe I was excited.

As I snuggled on the couch with Asher, who now had a fever, I listened to the testimonies of Lecrae and Lacey Sturm. Tears streamed down my cheeks as I was reminded how much I am loved by God. I was reminded that He found me when I was a lost sinner and He saved me because He loves me. I was reminded that He made me a new creation when I invited Him into my heart because He loves me. I was reminded that He gives me an abundant life–full of peace, joy, happiness, and everything I will ever need–because He loves me.

My plans were changed, but God’s were right on track. I needed to sit on the couch and take care of my baby while God took care of me. He made it worthwhile to be home.

And the blessings continued. There was a knock on the door. Reggie was here and wanted to mow our yard.

I’m sad that my day is different than I had in mind, but it reminds me that God’s plans for me are far greater than my own. He knows what I need and when I need it. Oh, how He loves us!

And even when we aren’t feeling well, we can still smile…

Image

Leave a Reply

