Calling All Hinsons

"…that they should seek God…" Acts 17:26-27

Warm clothes and Mexican rap

3 Comments

“The King is enthralled with your beauty.”  Psalm 45:11

I am a Warm.

I should wear only gold jewelry.

Brown is my neutral.

That’s what I learned yesterday.

I took two of my dear kiddos to an event at First Baptist Salisbury, Fashion Meets Faith. The nationally known Christian Style Coach, Shari Braendel was there to give a fashion talk to teen girls and moms. She was wonderful and I learned A LOT…

I don’t have Warm-friendly clothes.

I have a lot of silver jewelry.

I have one brown shirt.

Oops.

This would’ve been beneficial information for me to know 15 years ago, but I’m now 31 years old, have 2 toddlers, and have no money to buy warm things. Or gold things. Or brown things.

Oh well.

But I did learn a lot about Jesus, and that’s all that matters.

Shari talked about how to enhance the beauty that God already gave us. She said that a lot of the times the way we dress is a reflection of our heart. I know what she means. When I’m feeling depressed, I wear my PJ’s all day because I don’t want to put forth the effort to look any better than that. When I work out am feeling healthy I might wear workout clothes and tennis shoes. Her point was that because we are Jesus girls, we carry Jesus with us wherever we go. We want Him to have a good name. We don’t want to be that sloppy girl who doesn’t care about how she looks who happens to be a Christian. We want to be that Christian girl who is proud of who God made her to be.

On the way into town we stopped at my mom’s to have Krispy Kreme doughnuts. Then we went to Uncle Buck’s to have a sweet time of fellowship with some awesome women God has placed in my life. After the event at First Baptist, we had more sweet treats at Sherry’s and topped off the night with Chic-fil-a on the way home. I figure since Shari taught us how to look 10 lbs thinner by dressing right, I could eat all that in one day.

And to top all that off I got to chat about boys and life, dance to Mexican rap music, and laugh at it all with two special girls on the 2 hour car ride.

And don’t pay attention to the color I am wearing, it’s not in my Warm swatch packet either.

Image

3 thoughts on “Warm clothes and Mexican rap

  1. Amber, I’ve always looked at your inner Godly beauty (which I adore) but know your so beautiful inside and out! Love you dearly

  2. What a great time and a treat to love on those special young ladies.

Leave a Reply

