Calling All Hinsons

"…that they should seek God…" Acts 17:26-27

Testimony Tuesday {Unequally Yoked}

Leave a comment

I haven’t written in a while, but that’s not because I don’t have things I want to talk about. Just can’t come up with words about some things yet. So I apologize for not keeping you updated lately about what’s going on here, but all is well.

Thankfully I have slid this edition of Testimony Tuesday in with only 1.5 hours to spare. Whew, that was a close one!

Today’s Testimony Tuesday is submitted by an anonymous writer. Her testimony is a powerful one of how she endures through her marriage with an unbeliever–pressing onward through difficult times. I hope you are encouraged today if you find yourself in a similar situation. Press on, my friend! May God bless her for her obedience and bring glorious results!

~~~

Unequally yoked. This phrase has entered my mind and exited my mouth more times than I can count. How is it that I ended up in this position? Sure, like nearly every other person on the planet, I made some decisions growing up that I regret. Most of them are a distant memory, covered by the blood of my precious Savior. But this one, this one continually returns to haunt me. Understand that I did not choose to be bound to a nonbeliever, swearing an oath before God and our families. However, had I been walking with the Lord as closely as I should have been, I’d have heard Him clearly tell me not to make this commitment. For God knows the difficulties of marriage are many, even for godly couples- let alone us.

God’s word clearly states His reasoning why His children need to abstain from close relationships with nonbelievers; whether being someones “boyfriend/girlfriend”, business partner, or hang out buddy: 
1 Corinthians 15:33 Do not be misled, bad company corrupts good character.
2Corinthians 6:13-15 Do not be yoked together with unbelievers. For what
do righteousness and wickedness have in common? Or what fellowship can light have with darkness? What harmony is there between Christ and Satan? Or what does a believer have in common with an unbeliever? What agreement is there between the temple of God and idols? For we are the temple of the living God.

My husband said he was saved when we met with the preacher. Ok, he didn’t actually say those words, it happened more like this:
Preacher: “I want to make sure you both know Jesus Christ as your personal Savior.”
Me: “Yes of course!”
My husband: long awkward pause, no eye contact, silence
Me: Nicholas?!
My husband: “Uh, ya.”

And I chose to go through with it still. I just wanted it so bad. Marriage. Children. My own family. I was already pregnant after all, and it looked good that I would have a ring on my finger. I convinced myself it was just my husband’s lack of people skills and shy nature that brought his less than pleasing response. He said he wanted to get married, to give me the children I desired so deeply, and had given the impression he was saved- kinda.

Know that I don’t want to give off this “Woe is me” attitude. God is good. He is faithful, and I am abundantly blessed. My husband has some wonderful attributes that I’d never trade. In the 14yrs. that I’ve been with him, I’ve not come across one broken thing that he couldn’t fix. He is very faithful to me. He tells me I’m beautiful even when I know better. When I’ve been ready multiple times to throw in the towel, he worked to keep us together.  He’s super creative and resourceful, and that’s proven to be very handy for entertaining our 3yr old. But raising a child in a home with divided parents is hard. When your standard of morals (in line with the Bible) is argued, scoffed at, literally laughed at, when you are the only one to initiate prayer, when you’re mocked for being a Christian by the one who should be the “spiritual leader of the home”, when you bring your daughter to church every Sunday appearing to be a single mom, it’s hard.

God knows I have studied, in excruciating detail, every verse in the Bible that there is on marriage (read 1 Corinthians 7 for starters). And people let me tell you, it’s a pretty permanent thing. Other than marital unfaithfulness or death, God expects you to stick it out, lest He consider you an adulterer/adulteress, and God forbid that! So, what do you do? Well, I can tell you what doesn’t work. Hounding him to be in church (even though you just know God’s word will win ’em over this time!), giving God a time limit to change his heart- or else “I’m really leaving”, or whining/complaining to all that will listen about how you deserve a godly husband. After repeating all these mistakes for quite some time, I feel God has said this: Be content. Praise me (God) anyways. Stop complaining. Look to me, draw from my (God’s) strength.

I know Jeremiah 29:11 says, everything works together for the good to them that love the Lord, to them that are called according to His purpose.

And Philippians 2:14 Do everything without complaining and arguing

1 Corinthians 7:16 How do you know wife, whether you will save your husband? Or how do you know husband whether you will save your wife?

And finally Philippians 4:11 … and I have learned whatsoever state I’m in, therewith to be content. (I’m working on this one)

Bobby McFerrin was really onto something with his lyrics of the famous “Don’t Worry Be Happy”. The song says, “In every life we have some trouble, when you worry you make it double.” Though I can not change the situation I’m in, I can change my attitude about it. I can choose to not allow Satan to weaken my witness through a bitter mood and complaining spirit. I can choose to love my husband, really love him, the way God loves us, unconditionally, remembering Romans 5:8  God demonstrates His love toward us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. Besides, maybe this is actually the best for me. Perhaps being brought to my limit time, and time again, has caused me to seek God more knowing how desperately I need Him. What if God knew I needed some practice standing firm in the faith? Maybe my triumph through struggles will inspire others to obey the Lord even when it gets really tough. There are many exciting possibilities that can come from this marriage of mine… God help me to bring them about!

Leave a Reply

