Calling All Hinsons

"…that they should seek God…" Acts 17:26-27

Tears in My Savior’s Hands

1 Comment

The frustration builds up inside. It wells up until it overwhelms me. This life is hard sometimes. Not only my life, but this life we all are living in.

I step into the shower to wash it all away. To take a moment to cleanse my mind. I pray that the Holy Spirit will wash over me like the steaming water. Cleanse my attitude. Wash away my selfishness.

The tears flow down the drain with the water. My Omniscient God knows which is which and He catches my tears. He sorts them out and He holds them in the palms of His hands. There in His palms where I am inscribed and secure.

07.24.2013-post-open-hands

Sin is blatant in this world. I see it daily. I see my Savior shamelessly mocked and scorned.

I see the addict that turns back to his sin over and over.

I see the fear that causes young boys to carry weapons.

I see the homeless man that does not take advantage of the help he is offered.

I see the cancer diagnosis that leaves a family with questions they don’t know how to ask and answers they don’t understand.

I see the lies and the manipulation that cause so much heartache.

I see the insecurities that make a young girl lay with a man she barely knows.

I see the baby that is a result of that insecurity.

I see the young girl choose to carry the baby even though through her tears she yearns for him to have a better life than the one she lives–and that seems impossible.

I see the young girl choose not to carry the baby despite the pleas not to abort.

When the weight is too much to bear and the sin is so obvious, the frustration mounts. It mounts in my heart and comes rolling down my cheeks. It is hard to love sometimes. When the sin is in such opposition to what I know is right. When it flagrantly goes against what My Savior desires. When it seems there is a wall built up so high and so thick and so strong that my words and my prayers and my pleas aren’t enough.

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”

Today I will press on. I will muster up the strength to step out of the shower, leaving my frustrations washed down the drain. Confident that my prayers are heard by a MIGHTY God. One who remains on His Throne. One who is not even dependent on me to share His love, but he chose me for the honor. Today I will step out into this hateful world with my eyes fixed on the Lover of My Soul.

And I will tell them that He loves them no matter what.

Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord and in the power of His might. Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil. For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age,against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places. Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.

Stand therefore, having girded your waist with truth, having put on the breastplate of righteousness, and having shod your feet with the preparation of the gospel of peace; above all, taking the shield of faith with which you will be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked one. And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God; praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, being watchful to this end with all perseverance and supplication for all the saints— and for me, that utterance may be given to me, that I may open my mouth boldly to make known the mystery of the gospel, for which I am an ambassador in chains; that in it I may speak boldly, as I ought to speak.

One thought on “Tears in My Savior’s Hands

  1. I’m so proud of you. Being Jesus to a world that despises him is gruesome and giving undeserved love is humbling and sacrificial. That’s who He is and what He’s asked us all to be for Him. It’s never going to be as nice or pretty as we all think or wish it will be to be the servant of all. So much love to you.

Leave a Reply

