Calling All Hinsons

"…that they should seek God…" Acts 17:26-27

Testimony Tuesday {Keith Edition}

Leave a comment

Keith is a godly man that we love dearly. He volunteered to share his testimony for y’all and I’m glad he did. His insight into the “last words” of people he loves is powerful and worth sharing. Enjoy!

~~~

Powerful Last Words

As a young 15 year old boy I had not come to grips with life, much less eternity.   I didn’t have much self-esteem, and for the most part felt that I had very little to offer anyone. Later in life, after gaining knowledge, I could tell you that I was a strong introvert. My brother who was 7 years older, and a 2 year younger sister were extroverts.   They always had friends around them, I wanted to be home. Fortunately for me I had a Grandfather that taught me to hold my head up, for he was “proud” of me.

September 15, 1968 will stay with me forever. My Grandparents had driven to Salisbury from Gastonia for a visit. Later my Grandmother would say they were led by God for this visit. Since my father was an only child we were very close to my Grandparents.   I was home with mother and daddy and my brother and sister were out with friends. We had just finished eating lunch and retreated to the small living room. I noticed that my grandfather who was 72 years old seemed to appear tired. I asked him if he would like to lay down on the couch and to my surprise he said yes. I went and got a blanket for him, then an extra pillow. I then asked him if I could get him anything else and he said “I am just fine”.   Little did I know those would be the last words my Granddaddy would say as he slipped from this earth to the hands of our Lord.

Some 30 years later, at age 45, I knelt down beside my Grandmothers bed asking God to take her.   I held her hand as I prayed that she would be relieved of her pain and gain her heavenly body. She passed quietly within a few hours. I had similar final prayers for both my parents as they both lay in a bed passing quietly into eternity. My mother in law approached me on a Saturday morning at a Church gathering and asked me to come sit where she was located. Her final words to me were “I’ll see you in a little bit”.

You and I will all have our final words.   We may exit this earth quietly or we may speak a kind word to someone prior to our exit. We may have loved ones with us or we may be around strangers. It may be day or it could be in the middle of the night.

Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ stated in his final words “It is finished” (John 19:30).   Jesus knew he was suffering the crucifixion for a purpose. Earlier had said of his life “No one takes it from me, but I will lay in down on my accord.   I have the authority to lay it down and the authority to take it up again. This command I received from my father”. (John 10:18) The three words “It is finished” were packed with meaning, for what was finished was not only Christ’s earthly life, not only was he suffering and dying, not only his payment for sin and the redemption of the world, but for the very reason and purpose he came to the earth was finished.   His final act of obedience was complete. The scriptures had been fulfilled.

Leave a Reply

