Calling All Hinsons

"…that they should seek God…" Acts 17:26-27

Alabama {Tuesday: What’s that in the sky??}

Leave a comment

I rushed the kids out of the house this morning, saying an exasperated YES to Evan Grace when she asked me for the seventh time if she could take her baby with us. We don’t make it a habit to take babies, but I was in such a hurry I knew that it would get her out the door faster than my NO.

Hurry guys!

C’mon, please!

Please put the dirt down!

Please buckle up, Asher!

Please pick up Baby out of the dirt, Evan!

By the time we finally get in the car and ready to go, I’m exhausted. I hate nagging my kids. I hate rushing them. I want them to stop and play in the dirt. But this morning I was in a hurry.

People were waiting on me. I had to drop my kids off, pick up a teenager, take a pregnant neighbor to the Pregnancy Care Center, pick up the neighbor boys to babysit, and make it to The Connection for the Alabama VBS.

All this was running through my head when I spotted it. I slammed on brakes and screamed a happy yell that scared my kids.

THE SIGN! IT’S GOING UP! I shouted.

I knew the sign was coming soon, we just weren’t given a specific day. But at 8:45 this morning it had arrived.

My course was immediately redirected to snap a few photos of the big event and I picked up the phone to celebrate with Grant.

IMG_0030

No way! He said. He knew it was coming, too, but for some reason we both were surprised.

I think it was because it makes it so real. We have lived in Countryside for a year now and have seen God do great things in this ministry. Now to have a sign up at the trailer seems like a stamp of approval from God. It’s like getting a business card. It just seems more official now.

DSC_0681

The Connection was named based on Acts 17:26-27:

And he made from one man every nation of mankind to live on all the face of the earth, having determined allotted periods and the boundaries of their dwelling place, that they should seek God, and perhaps feel their way toward him and find him. Yet he is actually not far from each one of us.

The Connection.

We are The Connection. Those who support and encourage us are The Connection. Those who donate and loan pop-up tents are The Connection. Those who read these blog posts and pray for Countryside are The Connection. Those who visit and hold events and hug our neighbors are The Connection.

We are Connecting Countryside to Christ. That they should seek God. We are helping them feel their way toward Him and find Him, because He is not far from any of us.

The Connection now officially has a sign and we are thrilled!

I also think that God has such fun ways of making us smile. How appropriate is it that He allowed the Alabama team to be here to see the sign raised and celebrate with us? How appropriate is it that we had a bunch of kiddos there and were able to explain why this place is called The Connection? How appropriate is it that I could get this cool picture of all that, even while the paint was still wet on the pole??

DSC_0685

Oh, how He loves us!

I have been in tears all day. My heart is full. This is so humbling to me–that God would use my family to bring His Good News to people. These people of Countryside that we love dearly. Our hearts are burdened for them and their situations and their aches and their struggles. We want to Connect them to Christ so that they may experience the magnificent peace and joy that we feel on a daily basis.

Oh, how He loves Countryside!

And our Alabama friends are sharing that today, too. The neighborhood kids came back and new ones joined them. The morning was filled with Bible stories, wind chimes, flower headbands, and kickball. And lots of sweat, smiles, gatorade, and snacks.

DSC_0687

DSC_0692

DSC_0691

DSC_0697

And two more blessings showed up…

A friend brought over 45 heads of cabbage and other veggies yesterday and we sent those home with the kids today. Some kids weighed less than the cabbage and could barely hold onto it. Thankfully we were able to drop them off at their house with the Alabama bus.

IMG_0025

And a local church is getting a new playground and wanted to donate their old set to use at The Connection. Some Alabama boys and Grant headed over to disassemble it and bring it to the trailer. It will be great for the younger kiddos.

DSC_0694

What a good, good day it has been. My heart is happy. I can’t wait to see what the rest of the week has in store.

DSC_0690

DSC_0688

DSC_0683

IMG_0034

IMG_0027

IMG_0036

Our Alabama team will be worshipping with our Hispanic church tonight, El Siloe. They are in for a treat! I’ll fill y’all in tomorrow!

IMG_0352

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

