Calling All Hinsons

"…that they should seek God…" Acts 17:26-27

Testimony Tuesday {Dawn Edition}

Leave a comment

I met Dawn last year in our first Grad school class at GWU. You know those people that, from the moment they open their mouths you can tell they are a fellow Brother or Sister in Christ? She is one of those. Jesus radiates from her. She gives him glory for good and turns to Him in need. I knew she would have a wise testimony to share with us and I’m glad she chose to share about Worship. The challenge she poses is one that I will remember and focus on. Are you worshipping every minute?

~~~

Every minute of the day, we are worshipping something. A profound sentence I heard from a young woman who came to lead worship one Sunday morning for our church. It made me think- what exactly am I worshipping? I work full time. A lot of us have to work. I am going back to school. Both of my sons got married within 2 months of each other. I am always busy. What have I been worshipping?
I think the key to worship is to realize what are we focusing on and in what we are doing, are we honoring God?
So -3 things-
1). In all that I do, am I doing it for Christ or am I doing it for myself?
I am going back to school to get my Master’s degree in nursing to become a nurse practitioner. I am almost 50 years old. I should have figured out what I wanted to be at this point in my life. What is my intent? I realized that God can use people of any age to do what He desires. I want to be a nurse practitioner because I believe that everyone deserves quality, caring health care and I can show others the love of Christ through that kind of care. So I will honor Him by working hard in school, reading the requirements, and doing my best to get the best grades I can in all the classes that I am required to take. And then when I become a nurse practitioner, I will take care of the people He entrusts to me and care for them to the best of my ability to honor Him.
2. Am I mindful that others may need to see Jesus through me at any moment?
I work in health care so it’s easy to find a caring opportunity there with patients who aren’t feeling well, but am I really seeing the needs of my co-workers, people at the grocery store, my exercise class, in all places I may be in a day?
3. Am I looking for God at work knowing that He always is at work?
I have learned that every good thing I see in my life is from God and I acknowledge it. Went to the eye doctor the other day and for the first time in 35 years, I do not have to wear contacts. Who did that? God. Just last week, my nephew was hit by a 4-wheeler that went off track at a race. He appeared dead. People immediately began praying at the race track. The EMT’s couldn’t believe it-he took a breath and regained his color. Who did that? God. My first grade in statistics this semester? 100. Who did that? God. I had a shoulder injury and needed an injection, if not surgery. I was diligently praying for a friend of mine with lupus symptoms and I awoke one morning to a healed shoulder. Who did that? God. I woke up this morning in a home with a great husband and food on the table. Who did that? God. I could go on and on but I think you get the point. He is always working on my behalf because I am His child and He loves me. And He is worshipped when we acknowledge that it is Him and thank Him.
So I will leave you with this. Worship is honoring and acknowledging God in all things. We all have busy lives and it’s easy to “worship” our jobs, people, things. But I am praying we can all focus on worshipping the only ONE who deserves our worship even in the busyness of life.

Leave a Reply

