Calling All Hinsons

"…that they should seek God…" Acts 17:26-27

Testimony Tuesday {Stacy Edition}

Leave a comment

I just love Stacy. She is someone I have known almost my whole life and her family is so special to me. Her sweet Dad ministered to me as a Pastor for 17 years and her mother, standing faithfully beside him, poured so much into my life as well. Stacy is a strong woman with a strong Faith. Her story today about answering God’s call is one that challenges me. Let her words challenge you as well.

~~~

YES! I will do that!

Has God ever asked you to do something and you said “WHAT!?!” This is what happened to me about six months ago. I was sitting in church and one of the men shared his testimony about going on a medical mission trip to Honduras. I sat there and cried. Tears running down my face not because of what he was sharing but because of what God was telling me he wanted me to do! God wanted me to go on the next medical mis- sion trip to Honduras!!!

First, I am a teacher, not a doctor or nurse. I do not like to fly and I have motion sickness in planes and cars. I have no passport. I also have three young boys at home. As you can see it was very easy for me to come up with all kinds of excuses as to why I couldn’t go. The big challenge I was faced with was to be obedient and take a step of faith to do what God ask me to do. Over the next week I continued coming up with nu- merous excuses why God really didn’t say go to Honduras. Here are two good ones….

I got the church newsletter and immediately noticed the dates were just not going to work for me. My oldest son’s birthday would be the week of the mission trip and I just couldn’t miss his birthday. The following week the dates for the trip had changed and the mission trip would no longer be the week of my son’s birthday! (I couldn’t use the excuse that my kids really needed me because when I discussed the trip with my wonderful hus- band he said go, he and the boys would be fine)

The next one was, “Ok God, well I don’t have the money to pay to go on this mis- sion trip” (thats always a good one right?). Well…every payment since May has been covered one way or another. One of my friends from work even felt God leading her to pay for my passport!

Throughout the past several months of making excuses I have realized I really needed to work on my obedience and commitment to Christ. A few weeks ago at church the sermon came from Romans 6:15-23. Verse 16 reads,

“Don’t you know that when you offer yourselves to someone as obedient slaves, you are slaves of the one you obey-whether you are slaves to sin, which leads to death, or to obedience, which leads to righteousness.”

I was not so obedient, coming up with all kinds of excuses why I shouldn’t go on the mission trip. God expects me to be ready at any time to go wherever, whenever.

As I have continued to pray and plan for this trip I’ve realized so many ways God has already used this mission trip to minister to me and others. The good news is He is just getting started! I have learned much about obedience and really being committed to God and not questioning Him when he so clearly asked me to do something even if it is going to another country! Not everyone is called to the same work or places but we can all guarantee that God is calling each one of us to do something to further His Kingdom and we need to be willing, available, and ready as his servants to say Yes! I will do it!

I know there will be many more blessings to come on the trip in August. I am looking forward to this mission trip and am ready to serve Him and the people of Honduras!

“Dear children, let us not love with words or speech but with actions and truth. For God is greater than our worried hearts and knows more about us than we do ourselves.” 1 John 3:18-20 

Leave a Reply

