Calling All Hinsons

"…that they should seek God…" Acts 17:26-27

Summer Bloggin’ 11 of 14 {Thumbs Up Thursdays}

Leave a comment

Week 8:

At the beginning of the year we sat down to plan out our summer. In reflecting back on the previous Summer, we realized we needed lots of things to keep these kids busy. Last summer we found them at our house daily playing games and watching movies. This is all fine and well, but I’m not good at coming up with creative ways to keep 10 kiddos entertained. I have friends who are gifted in that way, it’s not one of my spiritual gifts.

In those planning stages, we came up with the idea for a weekly Bible camp and decided to name it Thumbs-Up Thursdays (TUT). We would ask all the youth pastors and leaders we knew to come in and host a TUT. We gave them lots of freedom in how the day would look, as long as they did a Bible lesson and fed the kiddos lunch.

I became a little frustrated as the summer was quickly approaching and we didn’t have as many commitments as I thought we should. (Notice the word “I”.) Some brief moments of insanity, I declared that we could just do it ourselves—just the two of us. We would fill in those missing Thursdays because, by golly, these kids needed something every Thursday!

(Have you been reading the past 10 posts?? I think we had plenty planned! What was my problem?!)

Anywho, I gave up on my little issue and decided I would just let God work it out. If He thought we should only have 4 out of 8 TUT then that was fine with me, I reckon.

Hindsight is 20/20 they say. Because I don’t see us being able to have squeezed another thing into that busy summer I have been writing about. God always knows best. He knew that we had enough for these kiddos to do. He knew that we would need some days when we didn’t have anything planned and we could take a family day. He knew that I didn’t know what I was talking about and He did. And I’ve learned that obedience is far easier than putting up a fight.

IMG_1890

TUT was fun. The groups that came did a fantastic job and loved well. Two came from NC and two were from SC. Some were youth groups, some were Sunday school classes, and some were just friends who wanted to serve together.

IMG_1728

IMG_1871

Thank you First Baptist Salisbury, First Baptist Lincolnton, Pleasant Hill Baptist and Covenant Baptist for sharing with Countryside!

Thank you, Jesus for showing me your ways are better than mine. Thank you for our friends who loved well all summer. Thank you for loving us!

20140522-230014-82814805.jpg

Leave a Reply

