Calling All Hinsons

"…that they should seek God…" Acts 17:26-27

Testimony Tuesday {Jennifer Edition}

Leave a comment

Can you even imagine?? Jennifer and Jeff were our neighbors in North Carolina. Both were diagnosed with cancer in 2013. We watched their battle from next door, supporting as we could and praying daily. I’ll never forget seeing Jeff in the hospital after he was diagnosed. His faith and strength was incomprehensible to me. I saw him sit in a hospital bed after surgery while his wife was too sick to come visit–and he praised Jesus Christ for his trials!

I am so thankful that their story continues on today. That they are able to share their story with you today. They have touched so many lives with their courage, strength and love for The Lord. May you be encouraged today!

~~~

For When I Am Weak, Then I Am Strong!

2013 was a challenging year for my family. My husband, Jeff, and myself were both battling cancer. I was diagnosed with Ewing’s Sarcoma, a rare bone cancer. Jeff was diagnosed with colon cancer. We were already in a financial crisis before we got sick. We had no health insurance, our home was in foreclosure, our dog died, and the list goes on and on. I could not see an end to this nightmare. My daughter, Sarah, was a junior at Liberty University. She moved back home to do online classes and take me to my chemo treatments. My son, Jeremy, was a sophomore in high school. Sarah and Jeremy were strong, but they realized that they could lose one or both parents at any time. I believed that God would take care of us. I had to keep my focus on Him.

There were times when I could not see anything changing for the better. I praised God anyway, because He is worthy to be praised no matter what the circumstances may be! I knew that I was close to death a couple of times and I was not scared of dying. Some days I asked God to let me die because it was so hard to just get through the next hour. I knew that there would be no sorrow and no pain in heaven. Some days I was so broken, and in pain, and so sick from the chemo, I didn’t even have the energy to pray, so I would just say, “Thank you, Jesus, for my salvation!”

Hebrews 11:1 says, “Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.” I didn’t give up, but just kept trusting and believing. “And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose” (Romans 8:28). I believe in God’s promises. Reading the Bible and praying continually kept my hope alive. I kept going back to Habakkuk 3:17-19 which says, “Though the fig tree may not blossom, Nor fruit be on the vines; Though the labor of the olive may fail, And the fields yield no food; Though the flock be cut off from the fold, And there be no herd in the stalls – Yet I will rejoice in the LORD, I will joy in the God of my salvation. The LORD God is my strength; He will make my feet like deer’s feet, And He will make me walk on my high hills.”

Even though we didn’t have enough money to pay the bills, and I was getting sicker, and my husband couldn’t work for many weeks because of his surgery to remove the softball size tumor, and we didn’t have any health insurance, and our house needed repairs that we could not afford, etc.; I still praised the Lord. My joy was in the Lord. My strength was in the Lord. He gave me such peace even on my worst days!
God blessed us so very much through all of our trials in ways I never would have imagined. God’s promises are for real! He still does miracles. Our family was so good to us. Our church family supported us in so many ways. They brought us meals three or more times a week for several months, helped take me to chemo, and they prayed and prayed and prayed for us. God provided a better home for us through a church member. A couple of awesome people provided us with dependable transportation to get me to treatments. Some wonderful friends held two benefits for us to help with our bills. The whole community came together and supported us with prayers, encouragement, gift cards, food, money, etc. There were so many people in several different states in the U.S. and people in Canada, Germany, and Israel praying for our family. My husband got a new job with health insurance. Jeff and I were both healed from cancer. And, the blessings continue to pour in. God is forever faithful and he makes all things work together for our good! Praise God from whom ALL blessings flow!

And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in needs, in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ’s sake. For when I am weak, then I am strong. 2 Corinthians 12:9-10 (NKJV)

by Jennifer Price

Leave a Reply

