Calling All Hinsons

"…that they should seek God…" Acts 17:26-27

Those things expire??

Leave a comment

So, I told you yesterday about Grant’s experience at Intensa in Costa Rica thus far. Let me tell you a few neat things that led up to this adventure.

A few months ago Grant came to me with that look. I knew something was up. He said “Hey, I think God wants me to go somewhere to learn Spanish.” He wasn’t too thrilled with this proposition, but he knew it was something God wanted him to do. We have lived here for a year and a half now and our Spanish is not as good as we would like it to be. About HALF of the families in Countryside are hispanic. We have seen 20 people accept Christ as their Savior.

Can you imagine the floodgates that will open when God allows deeper communication with that 50% of Countryside?!

So, I was all for it. I felt peace about him going from the moment he told me. It doesn’t make much sense–for me to be okay with staying here for a month alone with a 3 & 4 year old, but it was, somehow, okay.

The prayers went up, the schools were reviewed, the plane tickets were purchased.

Wednesday (4 days before take-off), we decided to start gathering some important stuff to take to Costa Rica, i.e. Grant’s passport. I don’t think I will ever forget the silence that came after Grant opened his passport and read aloud “Expires March 2014“.

*crickets chirp*

It’s okay, honey. I finally broke the silence. If I didn’t I was worried he would pass out. I’m sure you can get a new passport in two days. 

(Well, I wasn’t really sure that would be humanly possible, but I had to say something. It would have been more likely for me to scratch my ear with my elbow.)

Panic set in quickly, but we stopped and prayed. Lord, we know you have set us on this journey. We need a miracle now.

Grant made a few phone calls to the passport agencies and found out that he could present his application in person in Atlanta with hopes of getting one on time. It just so happens that our missionary friends are home on furlough in Atlanta.

So Grant left at 5am Thursday morning for an 11am appointment at the Passport Agency. He was able to pick up our friend and they hung out together all day. He even got a home-cooked meal for supper. But the fabulous news is…

God made a way and he left Atlanta Thursday with a passport that is good for 10 years!!

I am so glad we serve a God that can move mountains. He can work with our failures and our shortcomings. He can work with our distractions and our lack-of-attention-to-details. He shows us that He will take care of us every second of every day. He continues to amaze me.

And one more thing–the night before Grant left he wanted to weigh his suitcase. He said over and over, This thing is WAY more than 50 pounds! He hopped on the scale with the suitcase and guess how much it weighed?

50 pounds on the dot.

That’s my God!

IMG_0352

Leave a Reply

