Calling All Hinsons

"…that they should seek God…" Acts 17:26-27

A day in my life

Leave a comment

One of the questions I am asked regularly about our life here in Countryside is “What’s a typical day look like for y’all?” My answer usually consists of something like “we make loose plans but are open to whatever God has planned for us any given day.”

If I’m being honest, that answer comes with either a lot of Divine appointments or a lot of frustration. When I say I make loose plans, I really mean that I make plans to do what I want to do. When my selfishness comes into play, I don’t want to move those plans for anything–or anyone. Wait, I’m not supposed to say that. I’m a missionary.

It’s true though. I have a hard time with balance and selfishness and putting others before myself sometimes. Today I found myself praying for that all to be pushed out the window and to be filled instead with compassion and love and joy. Interruptions–at least in this line of work–should be considered opportunities.

And as I slowly saw God changing my focus and felt Him softening my heart, a lot of things came to mind. He gently reminded me of some of the conversations I have had these past few weeks.

Last week I was praying for a mother of four small children who had her power cut off. We sat and watched as God moved in people’s hearts to give and he provided down to the penny what she needed. I am privileged to pray for people to get their power turned on.

A few days ago I received a text that said: I JUST WANTED TO TELL YOU I GOT ALL MY BABIES BACK. THEY ARE ALL HERE AGAIN!! THANK YOU FOR PRAYING FOR US!! GOD IS SO GOOD AND MERRY CHRISTMAS!! I am privileged to pray for people to get their babies back.

Today me and Grant were asked to be Godparents to one of our sweet little neighbors. When his mommy asked me she said: I want y’all to be his Godparents because I know you will always be there for us no matter what and you will be a constant in his life. I am privileged to be a constant in people’s lives no matter what.

Tonight I sat and watched 15 Countryside kiddos sing in a Christmas play. They sang of the joy that came to the world at Christmas. They sang of the urgency to Go, Tell it on the Mountain. They sang their best for a new story they had been taught. Christmas this year is going to be about Jesus. Many had no idea who Mary and Joseph were last year, this year they are singing of the little Lord Jesus asleep on the hay. I am privileged to share the true meaning of Christmas with those who have never known.

I just cannot even imagine my life being any fuller. I cannot look back on my life pre-Countryside and think of what I prayed for and what broke my heart and who I was crying for. I cannot ever remember a time when I sat and watched God literally answer my prayers in very specific ways and in very miraculous ways.

Experiencing this kind of relationship with people makes me hunger for more. Experiencing this kind of intimacy with God makes me hunger for more. Experiencing this kind of movement of the Spirit makes me hunger for more.

And that’s a day in my life.

Leave a Reply

