Calling All Hinsons

"…that they should seek God…" Acts 17:26-27

Giving Thanks

2 Comments

I know it’s way past Thanksgiving, but I wanted to share with you the cool things that happened at the Thanksgiving Meal this year.

IMG_2836

IMG_2835

On Wednesday, November 26th, church buses rode throughout Countryside picking up our neighbors to bring them to Brooklyn Springs Elementary. There, we had prepared some delicious food and some fulfilling worship. As the volunteers gathered, we prayed and divided into teams, anxiously awaiting the guests to arrive. As they poured in my heart filled with excitement and longing–hoping that The Gospel message that would be shared later would reach deep into hearts and would transform lives.

IMG_2775

I don’t really know how to measure success at things like this, but I guess it depends on what you call “successful”. I do know, however, that our goals were met.

We connected Countryside to The Church.

We connected The Church to Countryside.

We connected Countryside to Christ.

IMG_2779

There was a rich, thick feeling of the Holy Spirit in that cramped cafeteria as the music by Soul Purpose started off. There were smiles and giggles as the little AWANA kiddos got up to sing proudly for their parents. I had never listened closely to the lyrics of Big House, but they sang:

I don’t know if you got some shelter
say a place to hide
I don’t know if you live with friends
in whom you can confide
I don’t know if you got a family
say a mom or dad
I don’t know if you feel love at all
but I bet you wish you had

Come and go with me
to my Fathers house
Come and go with me
to my Fathers house

IMG_2838

And after hearing that invitation to Come to The Father’s house, a skit was shared by the Hyde Park youth. In the skit, a young girl walks closely with The Lord until sin slowly pulls her away, dragging her to a dark place where she considers suicide. Jesus jumps in to rescue her from her sin when she reaches out to Him. As the girl dropped the gun and ran to Jesus, the cafeteria erupted in applause.

IMG_2840

Grant then preached a clear Gospel message by going back through the skit and explaining what happens when we get tangled in sin. All eyes were focused on the message.

In the end all the food was given away, all the songs were sung, and all the words were spoken. Even all the Bibles were taken from the prayer table.

IMG_2833

And I believe I figured out how to measure success. I’ll say it was a successful event by the tears that were falling down the cheeks of our neighbors and by the tight hugs that we were given when it was over and by the many seeds that were planted by God’s people that night in the cafeteria of Brooklyn Springs.

To God be the glory!

IMG_2796

20140607-144022-52822914.jpg

2 thoughts on “Giving Thanks

  1. It was our pleasure to join your Thanksgiving Meal festivities this year. The food was delicious, the presence of the Lord was evident, the music was wonderful and the children as well as adults were beaming with joy. We are grateful to The Connection and to you personally for including the children of our Second Baptist Church ministry of Sara Drive and Pallidin Road Trailer Parks. We look forward to joining with you again in 2015 in other activities that further God’s kingdom. Sherry and David Stalvey.

Leave a Reply

