Calling All Hinsons

"…that they should seek God…" Acts 17:26-27

Where, O Where, Could They Be?

3 Comments

I constantly run into people who say, “I just love reading your blog.” When folks say this I think one of two things:

1) You have a very boring reading-life.

or

2) You are reading someone else’s blog.

I feel that I have let you down, dear reader. I have left you hanging since 2014 with no word as to why.

Well, feel suspended no longer. I’m back!

And I say that very loosely. I’m back today because I have managed to find a block of time where I can sit and write uninterrupted. Also, the guilt for my blog-absence has caught up with me.

So, I decided that since it has been a while since you have heard from The Hinson’s in this particular format, I would make a list of things we have been up to.

In no particular order, here is that list:

  • Speaking: It seems that almost twice a month either Grant or me have been speaking at different churches. He is the main one, but I have been invited to a few women’s events and such. This kinda throws us out of our routine—not being at our own church and all. But we certainly appreciate sharing with God’s people what He is up to in Countryside.

10404440_398037803691356_4914059942247053307_n

  • School: January threw me off kilter. I knew I would be starting my last year in NP school, but had no real idea what that looked like. Well, it looks intense. The stakes are higher…I am diagnosing and treating people for health conditions for crying out loud! The reading is intense, the stress level is intense and the pressure is intense. I certainly feel God is taking me through this one medical condition at a time, but it still feels like a lot of pressure when you are asking me not to kill someone by giving them amoxicillin instead of penicillin. Shew.

IMG_0366

  • Clinical: This deserves it’s own line item even though it’s part of school. I am required to get 160 hours of work with a Physician/NP/PA each semester for the next four. This first semester I am working with a fantastic PA in Salisbury (where we moved from). This means I stay with my parents for days at a time so I don’t have to drive so much. This makes it hard on Grant, the kids, and the ministry as a whole. The picture of our ministry is one of family. When Momma is gone, it ain’t the right picture. I’m almost finished though. And I am learning when to give amoxicillin versus penicillin.

IMG_0349

  • Family time: Because I am gone for chunks of time learning about tuberculosis and chlamydia, I try to spend lots of time at home with Grant & the kids. We have scheduled movie nights and have headed to the skating rink and have enjoyed playing outside on these sunny days. I just love my family God has blessed me with!

IMG_0105

IMG_0106

 

IMG_0512

  • Pregnancy: Did you know I am pregnant? Yep—16 weeks actually. That means for the first 12 weeks I had the strongest desire to sleep for 23 hours a day. The other hour I was awake I wanted to sit in the recliner so I wouldn’t throw up. I have, however, turned a new leaf. All is well and has been for about a month now—Praise Jesus I feel like a new woman!

IMG_0107

  • Ministry: We are still going strong with daily opportunities. Hanging out with kiddos, taking them to church, and helping them with their homework. Grant’s Bible study on Sunday nights has been so fruitful—it’s very exciting! ESL has it’s faithful learners. And there’s always the daily things that pop up unplanned—taking folks different places and praying with them through crises. We are also planning our Easter Egg Hunt that is sure to be an exciting 60-second swoop of candy-filled eggs.

IMG_0108

IMG_0104

Well now. I feel tired after spelling that all out. Asher asked the other day, “Mommy, why do you have to go to North Carolina so much? I miss you when you are gone.” My answer to him was, “This is a season that God has planned for our lives. He has seen us through it this far and will continue to. I miss you, too, but I’m doing what I’m supposed to do right now.”

And I say the same to you. I miss you, but I’m doing what I’m supposed to do right now. God has given us this busy season and has provided a way. He makes time for rest and has actually grown my love for Grant in unexplained ways through all the craziness. He has also grown us as a family through the busyness. And, most of all, grown us closer to Him. We are relying on Him for strength in the madness and He has cradled us in His loving arms.

I hope to show up a little more here to let you know how God is still working in the hearts of our neighbors and of the Lancaster community. Just because I haven’t blogged in a while doesn’t mean He hasn’t been moving mightily!

Love and Hugs,

IMG_0348

3 thoughts on “Where, O Where, Could They Be?

  1. Ok two things! You are wearing a lab coat, that is so cool! and wow your pregnant belly is so stinking cute! 🙂

    love you my dear sister and miss you! Dana

  2. I’m still reading and know how busy u have to be…God continue to bless your family…
    and you are right in the place God wants you to be…Love you so much Amber and so proud to
    know you….

Leave a Reply

