Calling All Hinsons

"…that they should seek God…" Acts 17:26-27

On His throne

Leave a comment

Sometimes I don’t know how to explain all these feelings running through my head and my heart. They go up and down like the waves of the ocean. So many things happen daily here and they are so unpredictable that they catch you when you are in a vulnerable state. That makes it even tougher, I think, to deal with the raw emotions. The unexpected tears and heart-wrenching news. I do much better when I am prepared. But who can be prepared for these things?

Over the past few weeks we have seen God move mightily in personal lives and situations. We have also had those times where we look up and cry out and wonder what in the world is going on.

Grown men are asking Jesus to be Lord of their lives.

Young boys are murdering men much older than they.

Folks are living in their cars where the rain leaks in at night.

But now have found shelter and are seeking out the One who gives shelter in His wings.

Families team up in ministry and are pressing together to reach the lost.

Families are meeting at courthouses to beg for their children to be allowed to come back home.

Boys are doing drugs out in the moonlight and getting arrested.

Wives are calling my phone in tears as their husbands are taken away to jail.

Kids are coming to the house hungry and taking food home for when there is nothing to eat later.

Gifts are given to the ministry that are above and beyond anything we could imagine.

What do I do with all this? How do I handle it? As I was typing all this out and thinking through my life these few weeks, I realized that I don’t have to handle any of it. God already has.

He knows each situation and each heart and each person that is struggling. He knows the victories, too, and rejoices with us in the good times. In all of this, I am reminded that God is on His throne. He still reigns and is sovereign over any and all situations we face on this earth. I’m not called here to right each wrong or have all the right answers. I am here to serve my Lord and exalt His name.

Today I am choosing to do just that and leave it all to Him.

a33ec94660decab61b232f373d580948

IMG_0348

Leave a Reply

