Calling All Hinsons

"…that they should seek God…" Acts 17:26-27

Changes

3 Comments

I’m just gonna be vulnerable here. I don’t do transition well.

I actually don’t do self-evaluation well, so I couldn’t tell you exactly how I feel, but I know by the condition of my fingernails that I am stressed out.

Tomorrow starts a completely new and foreign journey for our family. Tomorrow is the day I begin work as a Nurse Practitioner full-time.

For the past few weeks life has been full of changes. We packed up our home in Lancaster, moved all the stuff to Rock Hill, unpacked, and tried to settle in. We have spent countless hours assembling furniture and taking things back to stores that don’t work or don’t fit–the third baby gate was the charm. We have visited churches where we didn’t know anyone and sat in congregations where no one knew us.

And in the midst of all this change I haven’t really been able to think on what our “new life” will look like. We have ministered as a family for over three years. Sure we would be apart–with meetings and other obligations–but for the most part we were together.

Tomorrow I will go into work and come home in the afternoons. Grant will be home with the kids and will plug into ministry opportunities as they come along. It will be completely different for us.

But one thing is for certain–we know this is what God has called us to.

So as tomorrow comes, will you pray for us? I am anxious to learn and develop in this new role but am uncertain what that looks like exactly for our family of five. I am thankful that God is using us in this way and am excited to see where this season leads.

Thanks for the love and prayers,

3 thoughts on “Changes

  1. Am I correct that the Hinson family visited First Baptist Rock Hill today? The man who walked you in from the parking lot is my husband. I met you years ago at the Billy Graham Library and you were they are because it was your birthday or wedding anniversary. We were able to pray together during your visit. We have so many wonderful young families at First Baptist with children the same ages as yours. Please let me know how I can help you connect. And welcome to Rock Hill. Debbie

    Debbie Troutman

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • Yes we did! We remember your kindness for sure! Wish we could’ve seen you. We plan to go to the pastors dinner at first baptist. Still visiting a few other churches we have been invited to and following the Holy Spirit’s lead in where we should go. We look forward to plugging in somewhere!

  2. When I left DSS and Susan started to work from home it was, yes stressful for few weeks. but ask you mentioned it was God’s plan for us and really trusted him. I became a full time mom and she became a full time employee. many changes and four kids to lead. After ten months of many challenges we still believe that it was God’s plan and with that we are content enjoying our different roles as parents. In your case it is also God’s plan and I know challenges will arise but you have trusted the Lord and he has your back…. God bless dear friends.

Leave a Reply

